Heather Newhouse

Soprano

Canadian soprano, Heather Newhouse, studied with Kevin McMillan at the University of Western Ontario, Canada where she completed a Bachelor of Music in Voice Performance with honours and received the gold medal. In 2006, she completed a Master of Music at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London. In 2006, she moved to France to pursue further training at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et Danse de Lyon where she studied with Brain Parsons. She has since continued to study voice with Cécile De Boever and Susan McCulloch. In 2010, she participated in the summer academy at the Festival d'Aix-en- Provence. In 2012 she was awarded First Prize at the Concours international de chant baroque in Froville and Second Prize at the Concours international de Mâcon. From 2011 to 2013 she was a member of the Opera Studio at the Opéra National de Lyon, working closely with Jean-Paul Fouchécourt. She performed in numerous productions : Die Zauberflöte (Pamina) with Stefano Montanari, Parsifal (Blumenmädchen) and The Turn of the Screw (Governess) with Kazushi Ono.

Following the opera studio, Heather pursues an international career, in operatic and concert repertoire. She has performed: Mozart’s Der Schauspieldirektor (Mlle Silberklang) with Leonardo Garcia Alarcon and the Orchestre de Chambre de Genève, Britten’s The Turn of the Screw(Governess) with the late Patrick Davin at the Opéra du Rhin, L’Europe galante(Céphise) by Campra with Les Nouveaux Caractères, directed by Sébastien d’Hérin at the Opéra de Versailles, Berio Folk Songs with Patrick Davin and the Orchestre Symphonique de Mulhouse, Quatre Jeunes Filles by Edison Denisov with Daniel Kawka at the festival Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo. In Canada, she sang Mozart’s Requiem with l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal conducted by Hervé Niquet. She sang Monteverdi’s Vespro della Beata Vergine with Ensemble Aedes (Mathieu Romani) conducted by Pablo Heras-Casado at the Melk Abbey in Austria, Charpentier’s Litanies de la Vierge with Ensemble Correspondances, Sébastien Daucé. She returned to Montreal to sing with Arion Baroque, Mathieu Lussier, for a recital of French women Baroque composers and Rameau arias. She sang Grieg’s Peer Gynt(village girl) with Elena Schwarz at the Opéra de Lyon.

Heather works closely with two Baroque ensembles : Ausonia and Le Concert de l’Hostel Dieu. Ensemble Ausonia, musical director Frédérick Haas, has invited Heather for productions such as : Bach – Kapellmeister & Cantor, a concert of excerpts from Hippolyte et Aricie by Rameau, a co-production with Les Festivals de Wallonies Combattimento – a concert that features Monteverdi’s great madrigal as well as Tomoe, a new composition by Claude Ledoux.

This innovative production toured in Belgium with their most recent performance at Bozar theater in Bruxelles. Le Concert de l’hostel dieu, musical direction Franck-Emmanuel Comte, has collaborated with Heather for productions such as : Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater, a Mozart solo recital, given at the prestigious Lyon Amphithéâtre, La Donna Barocca a recital programme dedicated to Italian women Baroque composers, and Folia premiered in 2018 for festival Nuits de Fourvière in Lyon. Folia is a dance creation by Mourad Merzouki, a fusion of Baroque music and hip-hop dance in which she sings neapolitan folksongs and Vivaldi arias with a very engaging staging for the singer. With already 100 shows performed, Folia has toured in many prestigious European theaters : théâtre 13ème Art in Paris, Zénith de Limoges - Festival 1001 notes, Theaterhaus Stuttgart - Coloris International Dance Festival, the Corum Opera in Montpellier, the Opéra Grand d’Avignon, Moscow International Theatre Festival, Festival dei due Mondi in Spoleto, Vaison- la-Romaine amphitheater.

2022/2023 season includes many performances in the ongoing tour of Folia, notably at Saint-Etienne Opera, as well as Dolce Follia, the concert version of this same show. At the Montpellier Opera, a duo recital with contralto Anthea Pichanick and collaborative pianist Justine Eckhaut – a programme of the Benjamin Britten arrangements of Purcell songs and Folksongs. She will sing as the soprano soloist for Mahler’s 4rth Symphony, conducted by Eric Geneste.

 

Video portrait

Heather Newhouse - L'Eraclito amoroso (Barbara Strozzi)

Meet Heather Newhouse in:

Shopping Cart

Heather Newhouse

Soprano

Originaire du Canada, Heather Newhouse étudie le chant à l’Université du Western Ontario, où elle obtient son Bachelor of Music en 2005. En 2006, elle passe son Master of Music à la Guildhall School de Londres. Elle intègre l’année suivante le CNSMD de Lyon où elle sortira diplômée en 2010. Ensuite, elle participe à l’Académie Européenne de Musique au Festival d’Aix-en- Provence. En 2012, elle remporte coup sur coup le Concours international de chant baroque de Froville et le Deuxième Prix (ainsi que le Prix de l’orchestre et des techniciens) au Concours international de Mâcon. De 2011 à 2013, Heather Newhouse est membre du Studio de l’Opéra National de Lyon, suivie par Jean-Paul Fouchécourt. Elle s’y produit dans de nombreuses productions, dont : Die Zauberflöte (Pamina) sous la direction de Stefano Montanari, Parsifal (blumenmädchen) de Wagner, The Turn of the Screw (Governess) de Britten sous la direction de Kazushi Ono.

Suite à son parcours opéra studio, elle se produit dans un répertoire varié. Elle chante : Der Schauspieldirektor (Mlle Silberklang) de Mozart avec l’Orchestre de Chambre de Genève sous la direction de Leonardo Garcia Alarcón, The Turn of the Screw(Governess) de Britten à l’Opéra du Rhin sous la direction de Patrick Davin, L’Europe galante(Céphise) de Campra à l’Opéra de Versailles avec l’ensemble Les Nouveaux Caractères sous la direction de Sébastien d’Hérin, Folk Songs de Berio avec l’Orchestre Symphonique de Mulhouse sous la direction de Patrick Davin, Quatre Jeunes Filles de Edison Denisov sous la direction de Daniel Kawka dans le cadre du Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo. Au Canada, elle chante le Requiem de Mozart avec l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal sous la direction de Hervé Niquet. Elle chante les Vespro della Beata Vergine de Monteverdi avec l’Ensemble Aedes (Mathieu Romani) sous la direction de Pablo Heras-Casado à l’Abbaye de Melk, les Litanies de la Vierge de Charpentier avec Ensemble Correspondances sous la direction de Sébastien Daucé. A Montréal elle chante avec Arion Baroque, Mathieu Lussier, un récital autour des compositrices françaises et des airs de Rameau. Elle chante une fille des pâturages dans Peer Gynt de Grieg à l’Opéra de Lyon sous la direction de Elena Schwarz.

Elle se produit régulièrement avec deux ensembles baroques : Ausonia et Le Concert de l’Hostel Dieu. L’ensemble Ausonia, sous la direction de Frédérick Haas, l’invite sur plusieurs projets : Bach – Kapellmeister & Cantor, un concert d’extraits de Hippolyte et Aricie de Rameau et une co-production avec Les Festivals de Wallonies le Combattimento – une création qui lie le théâtre Nô au célèbre madrigal de Monteverdi et une nouvelle pièce de compositeur Claude Ledoux.

Avec le Concert de l’hostel dieu, sous la direction de Franck-Emmanuel Comte, elle chante le Stabat Mater de Pergolesi, un récital Mozart - donné à l’amphithéâtre de Lyon, un récital La donna Barocca consacré aux compositrice italiennes baroques, ainsi que Folia créé en 2018 pour les Nuits de Fourvière à Lyon. Folia est un ballet-hiphop du chorégraphe Mourad Merzouki qui lie la musique baroque à la danse. Une mise en scène engageante pour la chanteuse, avec les musiciens et danseurs mélangés sur la scène, elle chante des tarantelles napolitaines et des airs de Vivaldi. A ce jour, plus de 100 représentations on été réalisées sur des scènes européennes, dont : théâtre 13ème Art à Paris, Zénith de Limoges - Festival 1001 notes, Theaterhaus de Stuttgart - Coloris International Dance Festival, le Corum de Montpellier, l’Opéra Grand d’Avignon, Moscow International Theatre Festival, Festival dei due Mondi de Spoleto, l’Amphithéatre de Vaison-la-Romaine.

Saison 2022/2023, elle chante plusieurs reprises de Folia, notamment à l’Opéra de Saint- Etienne, ainsi que plusieurs Dolce Follia, la version concert du spectacle. Elle chante un récital en duo avec contralto Anthea Pichanick et la pianiste Justine Eckhaut à l’Opéra de Montpellier – un programme autour des réalisations des songs de Purcell de Benjamin Britten. Elle sera soliste pour la 4ème symphonie de Mahler, sous la direction de Eric Geneste. Elle crée un nouveau projet en duo avec violoniste Emmanuelle Dauvin, un projet autour des cantates de Bach – Emmanuelle les accompagnant au pédalier d’orgue au même temps qu’elle joue le violon – pratique historique qu’elle ressuscite tel un «OVNI Baroque».

 

Portrait d'artiste

Heather Newhouse - L'Eraclito amoroso (Barbara Strozzi)

Retrouvez Heather Newhouse dans :

Panier