Dolce Follia - concert de musique baroque - Concert de l'Hostel Dieu

Our Music

First and foremost, we advocate for the originality and uniqueness of our regional repertoire by bringing baroque manuscripts preserved in the archives of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes into the spotlight. To this end, every season we premiere reconstructions and create modern editions of these unpublished manuscripts of musical works exemplifying the historical cultural ties Lyon and its region maintained with Italy.

Transposing the diversity of baroque music into our modern era is another of our principal artistic objectives. By nourishing our work through stimulating artistic collaborations, we create opportunities for baroque aesthetics to come in contact with cultures and artists of diverse backgrounds. Reimagining concert formats, our creative endeavors also seek to engage audiences of diverse generations and geographic origins.

NOS RAISONS D'ETRE

Our Purpose

Organize our ensemble as an artistic collective, through the collaborative project construction (teams, partners, exchange networks), and through participative management of the association (shared governance, horizontal organization).

Make our repertoire accessible to a wider audience using an intergenerational and multiregional approach, endeavoring to transmit our musical and humanist message to all communities with spontaneity and generosity, whether or not they are music connoisseurs.

Transmit our knowledge, our savoir-faire, and our passion to young audiences and communities with limited access to cultural activities with a spirit of solidarity and sharing. Support young professionals through educational and integration initiatives.

Step up to the challenges of sustainable development :
• In order to fight against discrimination, Le Concert de l’Hostel Dieu commits to promoting its values of gender equality, diversity, and the environment.
• Protect the planet and align all of our production, organizational, and audience reception initiatives with the principles of sustainable development and respect for the environment.

For these reasons, the ensemble is a member of the ARVIVA and HF AURA. organizations.

notre histoire

Our story

Our ensemble was created in December of 1992 by Franck-Emmanuel Comte, at the time a student at the CNSMD de Lyon. With the support of the doctors of the centuries-old Lyonnais medical institution Hôtel-Dieu, the ensemble presented two concert seasons from 1992 to 1994 on the campus of the Grand Hôtel-Dieu (in the chapel, courtyards, and refectory). Our experiences during those years created close ties with the Lyonnais public as well as local communities, who quickly gave their support. In 1994, the ensemble left the medical institution’s campus and began performing in various auditoriums and churches throughout the Lyonnais metropolitan area. We ultimately developed an extramural season, initially self-produced, then later in cooperation with different regional cultural institutions. In the 2000s, we established our reputation in France and then abroad, through numerous concert tours. We recorded our first CD in 1997 (Alceste/G.F. Handel), which was followed by more than 20 other recordings. The most recent, released in October of 2020 (La Francesina / G.F. Handel), received numerous accolades from the international press, and was named “Disc of the Year 2021” by the International Classical Music Awards in the category of “Baroque Vocal”.

International

In addition to our frequent concert performances, we regularly pursue additional enriching artistic collaborations. Over the course of our existence, we have participated in musical exchanges with a variety of European ensembles: this has included the reciprocal hosting of partner ensembles’ conductors or artists, as well as the entire partner ensemble. We collaborate in this way with the Collegium Musicum of Riga, the Portuguese ensemble Divino Sospiro, and the Italian ensembles L’Astrée and Les Nations.

We have also developed and realized collaborative projects with artists and ensembles from outside of Europe. These projects have led to residencies and concert tours both in France and in our collaborators’ host countries. The fruits of these collaborations, including concert tours of India and China during recent concert seasons, attest to the personal and artistic benefits of such collective creations.

In 2021, and despite the considerable restrictions on our concert schedule imposed by the Coronavirus pandemic, we have presented 14 performances in Russia, Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, and Germany.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top

Dolce Follia - concert de musique baroque - Concert de l'Hostel Dieu

Notre musique

Nous défendons prioritairement l’originalité et la spécificité du répertoire régional en valorisant les manuscrits baroques conservés dans les bibliothèques en Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Nous réalisons ainsi chaque saison des restitutions et éditions de partitions inédites, riches des liens privilégiés que Lyon et la région entretenaient avec l’Italie.

Transposer la diversité des musiques baroques dans notre époque est également l’un de nos axes artistiques majeurs. Nous nourrissant de collaborations artistiques stimulantes, nous provoquons la rencontre des esthétiques baroques avec des cultures et des artistes d’horizons divers. Renouvelant la forme concertante, nos créations ont également vocation à sensibiliser de nouveaux publics issus de générations et de territoires différents.

NOS RAISONS D'ETRE

Nos raisons d’être

Favoriser un fonctionnement en collectif artistique, en co-construction des projets (équipes, partenaires, réseaux d’échange) et en gestion participative de l’association (gouvernance partagée, organigramme horizontal).

Rendre accessible notre répertoire à un large public, dans une dynamique intergénérationnelle et multi-territoriale en s’efforçant de porter notre message musical et humain avec spontanéité et générosité auprès de tous les publics, connaisseurs ou non.

Transmettre nos connaissances, nos savoir-faire et notre passion, auprès du jeune public et des publics éloignés de l’offre culturelle dans un esprit de solidarité et de partage. Accompagner l’émergence professionnelle par des actions de formation et d’intégration.

Contribuer aux enjeux du développement durable :
• Lutter contre les discriminations, Le Concert de l’Hostel Dieu s’engage à défendre ses valeurs en faveur de l’égalité femmes/hommes, de la diversité et de l’environnement.
• Préserver la planète et inscrire l’ensemble de nos actions de production, de fonctionnement et d’accueil du public dans un esprit de développement durable et de respect de l'environnement.

À ce titre, l'ensemble est adhérent des associations ARVIVA et HF AURA.

notre histoire

Notre histoire

Notre ensemble est né en décembre 1992 à l’initiative de Franck-Emmanuel Comte, alors étudiant au CNSMD de Lyon. Avec le soutien de médecins de l’Hostel Dieu institution médicale lyonnaise multi-séculaire, l’ensemble anime de 1992 à 1994 deux saisons de concerts dans les bâtiments du Grand Hôtel-Dieu (chapelle, cours, réfectoire). Un lien fidèle est ainsi créé avec le public lyonnais et les collectivités locales qui, assez rapidement, apportent leur soutien. En 1994, l’ensemble quitte les bâtiments de l’institution médicale, qui bientôt amorcera une belle mue architecturale et fonctionnelle. Nous produisant dans diverses salles ou églises de la métropole lyonnaise, nous développons une saison « hors les murs », d'abord en autoproduction, puis en partenariat avec différentes institutions culturelles du territoire. Autour des années 2000, notre notoriété s’établit en France puis à l’étranger, par le biais de nombreuses tournées. Nous enregistrons notre premier disque en 1997 (Alceste / G.F Händel), une vingtaine d’autres enregistrements suivront. Le dernier en date, sorti en octobre 2020 (La Francesina / G.F Handel), reçoit de nombreuses récompenses de la presse internationale. Il est élu « Disque de l’année 2021 » par l’International Classical Music Awards dans la catégorie « Baroque vocal ».

Rayonnement international

L’ensemble développe à la fois une diffusion régulière mais également des échanges artistiques enrichissants. Au cours des années précédentes, nous avons ainsi réalisé des échanges avec divers ensembles européens, se matérialisant par des accueils mutuels des chefs ou d’artistes membres de ces ensembles, ou de l’ensemble dans son intégralité. Nous collaborons ainsi avec le Collegium Musicum de Riga, l’ensemble portugais Divino Sospiro, les ensembles italiens L’Astrée et Les Nations.

Nous co-construisons également des projets créés et réalisés avec des artistes ou ensembles extra-européens. Ces projets donnent lieu à des résidences et à des tournées à la fois en France et dans les pays d’accueil. Témoins de ces collaborations, les tournées réalisées en Inde et en Chine au cours des dernières saisons attestent de la plus-value humaine et artistique de ces créations collectives.

En 2021, et ce malgré une diffusion largement contrariée par la crise du Covid, nous donnerons 14 représentations en Russie, Italie, Belgique, Suisse et Allemagne.

Panier
Retour haut de page